Take Action!

From signing a petition to attending a hearing, there are many ways YOU can TAKE ACTION! and make a difference in the protection of our apex predators and our wildlife. Here you can access information, tools, and the guidance you need to help you make your voice heard regarding the latest in wolf protection.


takeaction111518.jpg

URGENT! CALLS NEEDED! A bill (H.R. 6784, at https://www.congress.gov/bill/115th-congress/house-bill/6784) will be voted on by the full U.S. House of Representatives THIS FRIDAY MORNING that would delist all gray wolves in the lower 48 states from the Endangered Species Act. If this passes, states will open up trophy hunting, trapping, and even hounding seasons on these amazing animals as soon as the fall of 2019.

TAKE ACTION: Please go here to find your U.S. Representative: https://bit.ly/1gRruDl, then contact him or her *by Thursday* to say that you’re opposed to the Congressional delisting of wolves, and ask them to vote NO on H.R. 6784. THANK YOU for speaking up for wolves!


takeaction080618.jpg

EMERGENCY TWEET STORM TUESDAY, AUGUST 7, 2018!WEET STORM TUESDAY, AUGUST 7, 2018!

GET READY TO JOIN THE "TWEET STORM" to protect the Endangered Species Act! Starts at 10:00 am Central Time until 4:00 pm Central Time.

If you've never been one to speak up - now's the time. Never in our lifetimes did we ever believe that the ESA would be in this much danger. We are living at a time when we are seeing man wipe major species to extinction right before our very eyes. It's time to #speakup. #ExtinctionIsForever - A Tweet to your senators takes a second. 

Visit www.govtrack.us for a list of your government officials.

Click the link for details/instructions:  


takeaction041318.jpg

Action needed TODAY to save California Predators!
Assembly Bill AB 2422 to ban use of certain "rat poisons" needs your support, now. Today.

Assembly Bill 2422, passed Assembly Environmental Safety and Toxic Materials Committee late Tuesday afternoon and is scheduled to be heard by the Committee for Water, Parks, and Wildlife at the State Capitol on April 24th.

The Committee for Water, Parks, and Wildlife needs to hear from you today, April 13th!

Please, take a minute to email or call - even if just to say that you are in support.

Address Comments to: Committee on Water, Parks, and Wildlife:
Assembly Member Eduardo Garcia, Assembly Member James Gallagher, Assembly Member Frank Bigelow, Assembly Member Wendy Carrillo, Assembly Member Steven S. Choi, PhD, Assembly Member Kansen Chu, Assembly Member Laura Friedman, Assembly Member Todd Gloria, Assembly Member Matthew Harper, Assembly Member Ash Kalra, Assembly Member Marc Levine, Assembly Member Devon J. Mathis, Assembly Member Blanca E. Rubio, Assembly Member Rudy Salas, Assembly Member Jim Wood

Emails should be sent to their staff:
Mark.Rossow@asm.ca.gov, David.Evans@asm.ca.gov, Hannah.Ackley@asm.ca.gov, Brandon.Seto@asm.ca.gov, Cameron.Demetre@asm.ca.gov, Diego.Lopez@asm.ca.gov, Annie.Pham@asm.ca.gov, Jim.Metropulos@asm.ca.gov, Yvonne.Munoz@asm.ca.gov, Alexander.Henthorn@asm.ca.gov, Roseryn.Bhudsabourg@asm.ca.gov, Justin.Boman@asm.ca.gov, Joaquin.Pacheco@asm.ca.gov, Celia.Mata@asm.ca.gov, Paul.Ramey@asm.ca.gov

The list, If you'd like to call or email separately:

Chair
Eduardo Garcia, Dem-56
(916) 319-2056, Eduardo.Garcia@asm.ca.gov
Staff: Mark Rossow, Mark.Rossow@asm.ca.gov

Vice Chair
James Gallagher, Rep-03
(916) 319-2003, James.Gallagher@asm.ca.gov
Staff: David Evans, David.Evans@asm.ca.gov

Committee Members
Frank Bigelow, Rep-05
(916) 319-2005, Frank.Bigelow@asm.ca.gov
Staff: Hannah Ackley, Hannah.Ackley@asm.ca.gov

Wendy Carrillo, Dem-51
(916) 319-2051, Wendy.Carrillo@asm.ca.gov
Staff: Brandon Seto, Brandon.Seto@asm.ca.gov

Steven S. Choi, PhD, Rep-68
(916) 319-2068, Steven.Choi@asm.ca.gov
Staff: Cameron Demetre, Cameron.Demetre@asm.ca.gov

Kansen Chu, Dem-25
(916) 319-2025, Kansen.Chu@asm.ca.gov
Staff: Annie Pham, Annie.Pham@asm.ca.gov

Laura Friedman, Dem-43
(916) 319-2043, Laura.Friedman@asm.ca.gov
Staff: Jim Metropulos, Jim.Metropulos@asm.ca.gov

Todd Gloria, Dem-78
(916) 319-2078, Todd.Gloria@asm.ca.gov
Staff: Yvonne Munos, Yvonne.Munoz@asm.ca.gov

Matthew Harper, Rep-74
(916) 319-2074, Matthew.Harper@asm.ca.gov
Staff: Alexander Henthorn, Alexander.Henthorn@asm.ca.gov

Ash Kalra, Dem-27
(916) 319-2027, Ash.Kalra@asm.ca.gov
Staff: Roseryn Bhudsabourg, Roseryn.Bhudsabourg@asm.ca.gov

Marc Levine, Dem-10
(916) 319-2010, Marc.Levine@asm.ca.gov
Staff: Diego Lopez, Diego.Lopez@asm.ca.gov

Devon J. Mathis, Rep-26
(916) 319-2026, Devon.Mathis@asm.ca.gov
Staff: Justin Boman, Justin.Boman@asm.ca.gov

Blanca E. Rubio, Dem-48
(916) 319-2048, Blanca.Rubio@asm.ca.gov
Staff: Joaquin Pacheco, Joaquin.Pacheco@asm.ca.gov

Rudy Salas, Jr., Dem-32
(916) 319-2032, Rudy.Salas@asm.ca.gov
Staff: Celia Mata, Celia.Mata@asm.ca.gov

Jim Wood, Dem-02
(916) 319-2002, Jim.Wood@asm.ca.gov
Staff: Paul Ramey, Paul.Ramey@asm.ca.gov


news22.jpg

It's just as important to support officials when they protect wildlife as it is when we're urging them to take a protective action. Take a moment to congratulate Canada's Conservation Officer Service for educating the public on wolves and how to coexist without harming them. Send them an email here: conservation.officer.service@gov.bc.ca


news15.jpg

IMMEDIATE ACTION REQUIRED: Let Alaska's Governor Bill Walker know that the recent and horrifying carnage of the wolves near Denali National Park is unacceptable and needs to be addressed immediately.

Click here and here to download two letters to Governor Bill Walker from the A-Team to help you get your letter-writing juices flowing...

Governor Bill Walker's Contact Information
Office of Governor Bill Walker
State Capitol
P.O. Box 110001
Juneau, AK 99811-0001
Phone: 1-907-465-3500
Email:  http://aws.state.ak.us/CrmForms/Home/Feedback


takeaction.jpg

APRIL 11, 2018: Protect Minnesota's Wolves and "Stand against Snaring" with Howling For Wolves

Let Minnesota's state-level government officials know that protecting our country's wildlife isn't a state-by-state issue; it's a national issue, and we ALL care about the wolves of Minnesota.

* Click HERE to join Howling For Wolves at their state capital April 11th to talk to Minnesota politicians in person and rally for the wolf.
* Contact Minnesota state lawmakers and tell them you want the wolves of Minnesota protected.
    - Visit  www.govtrack.us for a list of MN state lawmakers and their contact information.
    - Below is the letter Apex sent, modified for out-of-state residents to use, originally drafted by Howling for Wolves. Please feel free to use the talking points stressed by Howling For Wolves and add your unique touch to it. Download it HERE.


In July 2017, the misleadingly named HELP for Wildlife Act (S. 1514) passed out of the Senate Committee on Environment and Public Works and could be taken up for a vote by the full Senate at any time. If passed into law, wolves in four states would lose all protections and courts would be prevented from reviewing this reckless action. This legislative interference in endangered species listing decisions not only puts that species at risk, but threatens the Endangered Species Act. Please email your senators today and tell them you expect them to protect wolves and the Endangered Species Act by voting no on S. 1514.

In addition to threatening wolf populations and weakening the Endangered Species Act, this bill (S. 1514) would prevent the regulation of lead fishing equipment to protect our waterways. Lead is highly-toxic and has no place in our rivers. This bill’s prohibition on progress is reckless and puts endangered and threatened species at continued risk of an excruciating death by lead poisoning.

Another portion of the bill would allow the import of polar bear carcasses killed by trophy hunters before they were protected. Polar bears are protected as threatened under the Act and cannot legally be hunted or their “trophies” imported–for good reason. Allowing these wealthy trophy hunters an exemption to the law encourages hunting of other soon-to-be-listed species. Please ask your senators to oppose S. 1514 if it comes to the floor.